You can do it, momma!

pinterest-moms-meme

This meme used to be my reality. As a first-time mum with a newborn, being dressed and showered before dinner was a major accomplishment. Thankfully, things got better and were much easier the second time around. I have survived those days when you’re so sleep-deprived you can’t even remember if you’ve brushed your teeth and I have made it to the days where there are more and more small accomplishments to celebrate. I am here to tell you that you can do it momma!

When El was only 2 weeks old, I took her with me to pick up Bean from preschool all by myself for the first time. It might not sound like much, but at the time, that one small success made me feel like superman; like I could conquer the world!

super-mom-download-design-freebie-1

And mommas, we need to celebrate those successes! Because there will be days when your house looks like a tornado has gone through it; there will be days when you feel like if your kid has one more tantrum you’ll join her on the floor; and there will be a day when your husband comes home from work to find you exhausted and asleep on the couch while your 2-year old is busy unrolling an entire jumbo-sized roll of toilet paper, one fraction of a square at a time, so that she can clean up her dolly’s imaginary poo. (Then again, maybe that last one is just me. 😛 )

When you have those moments (or days) when you just want to scream, you need to remember your successes, no matter how small, and celebrate what you CAN do. Take the example above when Bean unrolled the toilet paper while I slept.  Yes, there was a big mess to clean up, but on the plus side, she didn’t colour on the walls, destroy any of the furniture, or hurt anyone. In fact, she found a way to quietly play by herself and let her tired pregnant mummy sleep. Clearly, I must have done something right. 🙂 And you know what? Between you and me, having had that blessed 20-minute nap made me rested enough to laugh about it instead of getting upset about the waste of TP and the mess to clean up.

So when things are going sour, just remind yourself of the good moments and learn to laugh at the oops ones. To quote @theMomsNetwork, “a bad day doesn’t make you a bad mom”. Take that to heart mommas! Sending love to all of you, especially those of you having a bad day. xoxo

Leave a Reply

