“I love my Daddy.”

This past weekend was full of celebratory Fathers’ Day stuff, and so I didn’t actually have time to write anything until today (haha, story of my life!) I thought that in honour of my wonderful husband, I would summarize why he’s so great through the eyes of our 3-year old (Bean). Without further ado, here are 7 reasons why Bean loves her Daddy.

  1. “Daddy’s a good cooker.” (Direct quote! It’s true, he’s a whiz in the kitchen and prepares some pretty tasty meals!)
  2. “Daddy is better at giving sh-baths.” (Yes, that’s a made-up word. I don’t even really know what it means, which is probably why “Daddy” is better at them. From what I understand, it’s a cross between a bath and a shower and somehow also involves washing the wall. On purpose. Quite frankly, as long as she gets clean, I don’t really mind.)
  3. “Daddy goes running with me.” Bean needs to run. Probably almost as much as a puppy… (I’m picturing a cute little boxer puppy who can run off-leash, whole-hog for an hour on a farm, only to get back home and need to go for another walk ten minutes later.) (Shout out to Pipps!) And she is fast. I’m not just saying that in a proud-momma-kind-of-way. My uncle took her out for a run a few weeks ago and came back drenched in sweat. That is NOT what I was expecting. You need to sign her up for track and field. Hubby laces up and gets a work-out in while running sprints with her on the local school’s track. Most people think we must be out-of-shape when we talk about getting a cardio work-out in while running with our 3-year-old. I know better and love that Hubby is willing to run with her.
  4. Daddy jungle gym. This is a game where Hubby lets Bean crawl all over him, as if he were a living jungle gym; sometimes she even swings off of his arms. He rearranges his limbs to make it challenging for her. She loves it.
  5. “Daddy and Bean like silly songs…” It’s the first line in a silly song Hubby made up to sing with Bean. It involves making all sorts of silly sounds, so of course, she loves it!
  6. The story about Mr. Potato. Hubby makes up stories for Bean while she sits on the toilet. There’s one about Mr. Potato and where sweet potatoes came from (entirely fictional), one about Mr. Fox (which ends with the singing of What does the fox say? by Ylvis), and one about Mr. Fry (and how he discovered that he was French, haha).
  7. “Daddy makes me apples AND pears at breakfast.” Ok, so it’s not always apples and pears, but when he’s around for breakfast, there’s always 2 kinds of fruit on her plate (sometimes more). When I make breakfast and only serve up apple slices along with her oatmeal, you can be sure I’ll hear about how Daddy gives her both. I love that he finds the time to make it happen.

Sending lots of love to Hubby today (and every day!).

 

Fathers Day gift 2017

This is the gift that Bean made for Fathers’ Day. I take no credit for it; she made it at preschool. All the same, I love it. What a great idea!

 

4 thoughts on ““I love my Daddy.”

Leave a Reply

